Fedor Gorst goes all the way

2018 Eurotour Treviso Open Final Stop - Fedor Gorst goes all the way 777x437

Fedor Gorst (RUS) has just won the Dynamic Billard Treviso Open 2018 with a thrilling 9:7 victory over Mateusz Sniegocki (POL) in the final match.

It was Gorst’s first appearance in a final match of a Euro-Tour ever today. He made his way over elite players like Petri Makkonen (FIN), Mieszko Fortunski (POL), Ivo Aarts (NED) and Maximilian Lechner (AUT) into the final match. His opponent Mateusz Sniegocki had just played a really tough semi-final against his teammate Tomasz Kaplan (POL) and just sneaked over the finish-line with 9:8. So the clash in the final match was experience versus youth. Sniegocki has already three Euro-Tour titles under his belt and today was his fifth appearance in a final match. Gorst was the newbie.

2018 Eurotour Treviso Open Final Stop - Fedor Gorst vs Mateusz Sniegocki

FINAL: Mateusz Sniegocki (L) vs Fedor Gorst (R)|Photo © EPBF/DK

„I had nothing to lose really,“ stated Gorst after the match. „The odds were all in favour of Sniegocki so I could play my game and enjoy the final match“. It seemed as if Gorst was as calm as one could be. „I was nervous“, admitted Gorst, „but I managed to keep my focus on the match and not think about winning my first Euro-Tour title.“ The match was really tight with both players changing in leading the scoreboard. At 7:7, Sniegocki missed an important shot. That brought Gorst to the table who showed no mercy to the experienced Polish and ran two racks, winning the final match with 9:7. „Tomorrow I will probably be happy about my 2nd place today,“ mentioned Sniegocki after the final when asked. „But today I’m suffering because I had my chances to win the match“.

Top Eight Dynamic Billard Treviso Open 2018
1. Fedor Gorst RUS
2. Mateusz Sniegocki POL
3. Maximilian Lechner AUT
    Tomasz Kaplan POL
5. Denis Grabe EST
    Ivo Aarts NED
    Miguel Silva POR
    Joshua Filler GER

The new Euro-Tour rankings are pretty much dominated by Austrian players. Mario He (#2), Albin Ouschan (#3) and Maximilian Lechner (#8) have all conquered or defended a top ten position. Leader of the rankings is still Eklent Kaci (ALB).

Top Ten Euro-Tour Rankings
1. Eklent Kaci ALB
2. Mario He AUT
3. Albin Ouschan AUT
4. Fedor Gorst RUS
5. Niels Feijen NED
6. Alexander Kazakis GRE
7. Denis Grabe EST
8. Maximilian Lechner AUT
9. Mateusz Sniegocki POL
10. Wiktor Zielinski POL