16-year-old Zielinski snatches the title in Treviso

2017 Eurotour Treviso Open - 16-year-old Wiktor Zielinski snatches the title in Treviso 777x437Wiktor Zielinski (POL), youngest Euro-Tour winner ever

The winner of the Dynamic Billard Treviso Open 2017 is 16-year-old Wiktor Zielinski (POL). In the final match, he outclassed his opponent Mario He (AUT) 9:1.

The final event of the 2017 Euro-Tour series has a sensational winner. He is probably the youngest and also fastest player to ever win a Euro-Tour event. So far, Zielinski’s best achievement in the Euro-Tour was a 5th place finish in Albufeira, Portugal, earlier this year. Here in Treviso, Zielinski started his quest with a 9:5 victory over his teammate Piotr Ostrowski (POL). His next victim was Gentjan Gega (ALB) 9:6. Then, he was defeated by Stefan Huber (AUT) 6:9 and sent to the loser’s side. Zielinski finished Jakub Koniar (SVK) 9:5 to get to the single elimination stage.

In the round of the last 32 players, Zielinski wiped the floor with Abdulrahman Alammar (KSA) 9:1. Then, he outplayed local hero Daniele Corrieri (ITA) who had also played a strong tournament until then. In the quarter-final, Zielinski eliminated former World Champion Daryl Peach (GBR) 9:5. Said Peach on Facebook: „I lost 9:5 to Wiktor Zielinski from Poland in the quarterfinal so that’s a 5th place finish for me. He played excellent and I didn’t see a shot until 5:0 down, I battled back but it was a lot to ask. Watch out for this kid, he is 16 years old and an unreal talent in the game…. yeah another up and coming star from European pool.“ Peach was dead right with this estimation.

In the semi-final, Zielinski took down Denis Grabe (EST) 9:2, winning nine consecutive racks against the Estonian. Then he got to the final match against Mario He. The Austrian also played pretty strong so far and he had an impressive list of opponents who he had taken down here in Treviso this time. Maksim Dudanets (RUS), Francisco Sanchez-Ruiz, Niels Feijen (NED) and Eklent Kaci (ALB) were all ousted by He. The expectations for the final match were a bit in favour of Mario He since he was the more experienced player by far. So far, he has achieved one victory, one runner-up and 4 third places on the Euro-Tour. Today, the final match was a one man show by Zielinski only. He demolished Mario He 9:1 in a final match that only lasted 23 minutes !! Probably that was the fastest final in the history of the Euro-Tour. „I practiced very hard for this“, stated Zielinski after the match, „ and I’m so happy now that it is hard for me to express my happiness in words“, he added. This victory is for the record book in two aspects: the youngest winner and the fastest final match ever.

Eurotour logo 320x320

2017 特雷維索公開賽 (Treviso Open) 冠軍是年僅16歲的波蘭選手Wiktor Zielinski ,決賽中他以9-1擊敗來自奧地利的選手Mario He

在2017歐巡賽的最後一站,誕生了一名轟動全場的贏家。他可能是歐巡賽史上最年輕,也是最快拿到冠軍的選手。此前, Zielinski最好的成績是今年在葡萄牙阿爾布費拉 (Albufeira, Portugal) 的第五名。

在特雷維索,Zielinski先以9-5擊敗他的隊友,同樣是來自波蘭的Piotr Ostrowski,隨後再以9-6打敗阿爾巴尼亞選手Gentjan Gega 。接下來的比賽,被奧地利選手Stefan Huber擊敗掉落到敗部,不過最後以9-5擊敗斯洛伐克選手Jakub Koniar闖進單敗輪。

在32強的輪次中,Zielinski 9-1橫掃沙特阿拉伯選手 Abdulrahman Alammar。隨後又戰勝地主實力選手Daniele Corrieri 。四分之一決賽,更是以9-5戰勝了前世界冠軍Daryl Peach

賽後Peach在臉書說到: “我在四分之一決賽輸給了波蘭選手Zielinski,他的表現很好,我一路被打到0-5落後,儘管後來我追上去了,但還是差很多。看看這個孩子,才16歲,歐洲撞球一顆升起的新星。”

半決賽則是對戰愛沙尼亞的Denis Grabe ,一口氣連下9局,以9:2獲勝。最終決賽,Zielinski的對手是Mario HeMario似乎更占優勢,畢竟他有更豐富的經驗,他已在歐巡賽奪得了一個冠軍,一個亞軍和四次第三名。


Top Eight Players
1. Wiktor Zielinski (POL)
2. Mario He (AUT)
3. Denis Grabe (EST)
Eklent Kaci (ALB)
5. Albin Ouschan (AUT)
Daryl Peach (GBR)
Niels Feijen (NED)
Aleka Pecelj (SRB)

As for the final rankings of 2017, Ralf Souquet (GER) has taken the lead position over from David Alcaide (ESP) who dropped three places. Souquet is the only player who has won two events in 2017. The two Austrian powerhouses Mario He and Albin Ouschan are right on Souquet’s heels.

Top Ten Euro-Tour rankings
1. Ralf Souquet (GER)
2. Mario He (AUT)
3. Albin Ouschan (AUT)
4. David Alcaide (ESP)
5. Nick van den Berg (NED)
6. Denis Grabe (EST)
7. Niels Feijen (NED)
8. Ruslan Chinakhov (RUS)
9. Francisco Sanchez-Ruiz (ESP)
10. Wiktor Zielinski (POL)

That concludes the coverage from the Dynamic Billard Treviso Open 2017. The next event to be covered will be the Dynamic Billard Italian Open in March 2018.

The event was hosted by the European Governing Body for Pool, the European Pocket Billiard Federation (EPBF) and organized by International Billiard Promotion (IBP). For further information and reference please go to the federation website www.eurotouronline.com  visit us on Facebook or check out our youtube channel for regular news clips or contact our press office press@epbf.com